Enjoy 10% off your first order with code: new10

5 F. Scott Fitzgerald adaptations to watch if you love his books

F. Scott Fitzgerald is known for his modern classics set in the decadent jazz age. From This Side of Paradise to The Great Gatsby to The Last Tycoon, his books explored themes of love, wealth, status, excess, morality and the idealistic American dream.

Today would have been the American author's 123 birthday and we'll be celebrating by indulging in some of our favourite Fitzgerald adaptations, listed below.

The Great Gatsby (2013)

Flamboyant and theatrical with lavish production values, Baz Luhrmann's The Great Gatsby is a visual extravaganza. The Moulin Rouge and Romeo + Juliet director turned Fitzgerald's book into a vibrant party, taking us into the glittering, mysterious world of Jay Gatsby (Leonardo DiCaprio) through the eyes of narrator Nick Carraway (Tobey Maguire). 

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button (2008)

You might be surprised to learn that Benjamin Button is one of Fitzgerald's creations. The romantic drama starring Brad Pitt and Cate Blanchett is loosely based on the author's 1922 short story, which appears in his Tales of the Jazz Age collection. It centres on a baby who is born with the appearance of an old man and ages backwards.

Tender Is The Night (1962)

This 1962 drama is based on Fitzgerald's final completed novel about a psychiatrist called Dick Diver and his dangerously unstable patient, Nicole, who becomes his wife. Starring Jennifer Jones and Jason Robards, Tender Is The Night is set in 1920's Europe and mirrors Fitzgerald's own marriage with his wife, Zelda, who was hospitalised with schizophrenia in 1932.

The Last Tycoon (2016-2017)

Amazon's small-screen adaptation of Fitzgerald's unfinished, posthumously published novel was prematurely cancelled after just one season but it's still worth a watch. The show is set in 1930's Hollywood and centres on film producer Monroe Stahr, his rise to power and his conflict with rival Pat Brady (Kelsey Grammer).

The Last Time I Saw Paris (1954)

Elizabeth Taylor and Van Johnson star in this romantic drama based on Fitzgerald's short story Babylon Revisited. It's a classic post-war tale set in Paris in the aftermath of World War II. The film also stars Donna Reed, Eva Gabor and Roger Moore making his big Hollywood debut.

Comments 0

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published